Mini Book Reviews – Gone Girl/Un Lun Dun/The Prince of Mist

IMG_1325

A-Levels meant that I had a huge back pile of books that I hadn’t had time to open, so the summer means that I’ve had the time to start reading again.

IMG_1333

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Amazon – £3.85

This book has definitely got to be one of the best I’ve read. The book is split into two sections, one from each of the main characters’ point of view. This allows you to get a real feel for the character and connect with them. The plot line is also brilliant, with a very surprising twist that will leave you reeling! I can’t recommend this book enough and to prove how gripping this book is, I started it meaning to read a few pages and ended up finishing it in one evening.

IMG_1332

Un Lun Dun by China Miéville

Amazon – £5.24

This is a children’s book so it is quite an easy read, but the plot line is very original and interesting. I’ve had this book for quite a few years now and I never get bored of it and have re-read it quite a few times. It’s definitely a book I would give as a gift to someone, and that’s like the highest recommendation you can give a book!

IMG_1331

The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Amazon – £5.27

This is the first book by Carlos Ruiz Zafón and starts off as a light read but eventually becomes more dark and haunting. It is a young adults book, but the atmosphere he creates in such a short book is incredible. It is through this book that I purchased his newer novel, The Shadow of The Wind and I don’t think I will be disappointed by that either.

3 thoughts on “Mini Book Reviews – Gone Girl/Un Lun Dun/The Prince of Mist

Leave a Reply

